The Dr Herbert John Evans Jr. Award

Dr. Evans and his lab 1987 Dr. Herbert John Evans, Jr. was a protein chemist and enzymologist who used proteins from snake venoms to investigate biological activity in the coagulation cascade. Dr. Evans’ protein structure/function studies led to the identification and prediction of biologically useful peptides. Dr. Evans joined the faculty of the Biochemistry Department in 1974 and served for twenty-four years until his untimely death in 1998. In his memory, his colleagues and friends established The Herbert John Evans, Jr. Award. Each year, the faculty of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology present an award in Dr. Evan’s honor to the most outstanding senior (year 04 or beyond) graduate student in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. It is hoped that the talented and conscientious student who receives the award will aspire to and excel at the same qualities of rigorous scholarship, honesty, and diligence, which Dr. Evans valued.

*In the picture, Dr. Herbert J. Evans and his lab, 1987 (left to right: Dr. R. Manjunatha Kini, postdoctoral fellow; graduate student on rotation; Dr. Herbert J. Evans; Steingrimur Stefansson, doctoral candidate; Nancy Haar, technician)

Past recepients of the Dr. Herbert John Evans. jr. Award

  • 2015 – Jessie Yester
  • 2014 – Annamarie Dalton
  • 2013 – Thomas Gallagher
  • 2012 – Hoon Shim
  • 2011 – Abir Murherjee
  • 2010 – Tom Seegar
  • 2009 – Regina Oseyana
  • 2008 – Dayanjan Shanaka Wijesinghe
  • 2007 - Marc Cantwell
  • 2006 - JiaDe Yu
  • 2005 - Jerry Basosila
  • 2004 - Jean Lin
  • 2003 - Ryan Mitchell
  • 2002 - Yahya Al-Yahya
  • 2001 - Sarah MacKinnon
  • 2000 - Salwa Abdullah
  • 1999 - John Alsobrook